Forest Heights Community School

Role of the Community Health Worker in the School
December 4, 2014 By Janet

There is a community health worker available to students in our schools. As a South Shore Health employee, his/her role is to provide support to our grades 7-12 students in the areas of substance use, mental health, and sexual health. Students may access this support directly, on their own or in consultation with guidance, school administration, or other school staff. Another role of the community health worker is to connect students with other specialized health services, when required, such as clinical therapists and nurse practitioners. As health services, this involvement is confidential, provided the student is considered competent to consent (in Nova Scotia, there is no age of consent for health services).

If your son or daughter would like to access these services, please have him/her contact the school or phone South Shore Health at (902) 543-5400 to find out the days these services are available.

FHCS Latest Events

Wed May 31 @ 9:00AM - 01:40PM
Embedded CLT - Early dismissal
Tue Jun 06 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Awards Afternoon
Mon Jun 12 @ 6:30PM - 07:30PM
SAC Meeting
Fri Jun 16 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Semester 2 ends
Tue Jun 20 @ 9:00AM - 12:30PM
English 10 (semestered) (not grade 9's)
Wed Jun 21 @ 9:00AM - 12:30PM
Math at Work 10 (semestered) (not grade 9's)
Thu Jun 22 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Exams (not grade 9's)
Fri Jun 23 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Exams (not grade 9's)
Mon Jun 26 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
Prom
Wed Jun 28 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Graduation Ceremony

FHCS Calendar

May 2017
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31

Follow Us

              

FHCS Contact

PO Box 29
Chester Basin, N.S.
B0J 1K0
Phone: (902) 275-2700
Fax: (902) 275-2710
Email: fhcs@ssrsb.ca

Community School Coordinator